Section 2.—Provincial Governments.

Table 10 gives the names and areas, as in 1939, of the several provinces, territorics, and provisional discricts of the Dominion, together with the dates of their creation or admission into the Confederation and the legislative process by which this was effected.

10.—Provinces and Territories of Canada, with Present Areas, Dates of Admission to Confederation, and Legislative Process by which Admission was Effected.

Province,	Date of Admission or Creation.		Legislative Process.	Present Area (square miles).		
Territory, or District.				Land.	Fresh Water.	Total.
Ontario. Quebec Nova Scotia New Brunswick. Manitoba. British Columbia P.E. Island	ງທັງ ຕ ແ ແ	20, 1871	1, 1887 British North America Act, 1867 (30-31 Vict., c. 3), and Imperial J, 1867 Order in Council of May 22, 1867 . 15, 1870 Manikoba Act, 1870 (33 Vict., c. 3) an Imperial Order in Council, June 23, 1877 [Imperial Order in Council, June 24, 1879] [Imperial Order in Council, June 24, 1879] [Imperial Order in Council, June 24, 1879] [Imperial Order in Council, May 16, 1871] [Imperial Order in Council, May 16, 1879] [Imperial Order in Council May 16, 1879] [Imperial Order in Council May 16, 1879] [Imperial Order in Council May 16, 1879] [Imperial Order in Counc	219,723 359,279	49,300 71,000 325 512 26,789 6,976	412,5821 594,5342 21,068 27,985 246,512 366,255 2,184
Saskatchewan Alberta Yukon Mackenzie Keewatin Franklin	Sept. June Jan.	1, 1905 1, 1905 13, 1898 1, 1920 1, 1920 1, 1920	Saskatchewan Act, 1905 (4-5 Edw. VII, c. 43) Alberta Act, 1905 (4-5 Edw. VII, c. 3). Yukon Territory Act, 1898 (61 Vict., c. 6).	237,975 248,800	13,725 6,485 1,730 34,265 9,700 7,500	251,700 + 255,285 + 207,076 527,490 + 228,160 + 554,032
		1, 1000	, Totals	3,466,556	228,397	3,694,863

¹ The area of Ontario was extended by the Ontario Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V, c. 40). ² Extended by Quebec Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V, c. 45), and diminished in consequence of the award of the Judical Committee of the British Privy Council (Mar. 1, 1927), whereby some 113,400 square miles of territory, formerly considered as part of Quebec, were assigned to Newfoundland. ³ Extended by Extension of Boundaries of Manitoba Act, 1881, and Manitoba Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V, c. 32). ⁴ Too small to be enumerated. ⁴ Alberta and Saskatchewan now cover approximately the area formerly comprised in the districts of Assimiboia, Athabaska, Alberta, and Saskatchewan, established May 17, 1852, by minute of Canadian P.C., concurred in by Dominion Parliament and Order in Council of Oct. 2, 1895. ⁵ By Order in Council of Oct. 2, 1895. ⁵ By Order in Council of Oct. 2, 1895. ⁵ By Order in Council of Direct Saskatchewar, Northwest Territories, mentioned in the Manitoba Act, 1870, Rupert's Land, acquired under the Rupert's Land Acts of 1867 and 1868, and the undefined Northern Territories were admitted into the Confederation. The original Northwest Territories, mentioned in the Manitoba Act, 1870, were established by the Northwest Territories Act, 1880 (43 Vict., c. 25), the district of Keewatin having been previously defined by an Act of the Dominion Parliament (39 Vict., c. 21). The provisional districts of Yukon, Mackenzie, Franklin, and Ungaya were defined in an Order in Council of July 24, 1905, the incoundaries being changed by Order in Council of Dec. 18, 1897. By Order in Council of July 24, 1905, the area of Keewatin, not included in the Northwest Territories, was annexed to the latter from Sept 1, 1905. By the Extension of Boundaries Act, 1912, Ungava was made a part of the province of Quebec, and the remaining area of the Northwest Territories south of 60° N. latitude was divided between Manitoba and Ontario.

In each of the provinces the King is represented by a Lieutenant-Governor appointed by the Governor General in Council and governs with the advice and assistance of his Ministry or Executive Council, which is responsible to the Legislature and resigns office when it ceases to enjoy the confidence of that body. The Legislatures of all the provinces with the exception of Quebec are now unicameral, consisting of a Legislative Assembly elected by the people. In Quebec there is a Legislative Council as well as a Legislative Assembly. For detailed description of the Provincial Governments, the reader is referred to pp. 101-115 of the 1922-23 edition of the Year Book.

The Lieutenant-Governors of the provinces, together with the names of the Ministers of the present administrations, are given in Table 11. Details regarding Provincial Legislatures and Ministries from Confederation to 1924 were given on pp. 75-84 of the 1924 Year Book, and for 1924-37 on pp. 110-118 of the 1938 Year Book.